Elementary II

Elementary II for Ages 9 to 12

The new Elementary II course (ages 9-12) enables the adult learner to earn an AMS credential to teach children between the ages of 9-12. The adult learner attends the 8-week Elementary II course during the summer, followed by a practicum in an elementary (ages 9-12) classroom. The Elementary II course provides the use of selected materials of Elementary I (ages 6-9) which form the foundation for the Montessori upper elementary program and a complete Elementary II course of study.

The course will cover content areas and presentations for math, geometry, history, economic geography, language, biology, chemistry/environmental studies, classroom leadership, and curriculum development and design. Techniques will include the use of the material, follow-up exercises, ideas for supplemental teacher-made materials, and the use of charts and timelines. Notes on the presentations will be given to the workshop participants. Also, teacher manuals for the lower elementary (6-9 program) and for the upper elementary (9-12 program) on the use of Montessori materials taught in this course are given to the adult learners.

This course is MACTE Accredited

Elementary II – Course Description

Prerequisites to receive the AMS Elementary Credential

  • A four-year college degree from an accredited college or university
  • Successful Completion of all Elementary II Course Requirements
  • Montessori Early Childhood (for ages 3-6): either a 3-6 Credential or completion of the one-week Early Childhood Overview

The minimum requirement for attending the complete Elementary II including academic component and practicum is a 4-year college degree and permission of the Course Director.  If adult learners do not wish to take the entire credential program, they may elect to participate solely in the academic component if they have at least 60 units of college credit.

Montessori Center for Teacher Education welcomes diversity in our student body, faculty, and staff. We adhere to a policy of non-discrimination in regard to race, color, creed, national or ethnic origin, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, and gender identity.